Breakfastisfaction in ATL at West Egg Cafe

Leave a comment

February 9, 2013 by ET

Brunch. It’s that amazing idea to blend two square meals worth of calories into one glorious spread dipped in egg batter and topped with maple syrup and warm butter. Before you even think about Saturday night plans, there are biscuits, bacon and Bloody Marys to be had. Installment two of our trip to Atlanta checks out the weekend brunch scene at West Egg Cafe.

In need of caffeine and fuel to start a busy day in the ATL, my husband Ron and I stumbled into West Egg Cafe in the West Side area. Maybe it was the aroma of fresh coffee or the promise of all day breakfast, but once inside, I knew this was the place for us. Mid century furniture, a vintage photo booth and a display of delicious treats greeted us, as did a growing crowd of sleepy eyed patrons waiting for a table. With a feeling that it would be worth the wait, I put our names in and window shopped the baked goods by the coffee bar.

IMG_1693

Those are Coca-Cola cupcakes. Scones, muffins and freshly made “Pop Tarts” share the case space with a variety of rotating cupcake flavors.

IMG_1705

Content to sip my cafe au lait and people watch the mix of families, hungover couples and runners in technical gear on mission to refuel post-run, I did my best to play the role of a local, though taking pictures of cupcakes probably game me away.

When they called our name and we were seated, we decided to switch from coffee to liquor. The cocktail menu was too tempting to pass up and we had a long day ahead of us. Good morning liver! While I’m always a huge fan of the Bloody Mary (which Ron ordered), I had to go with a refreshing twist on an all time favorite, the Orange Mule, made with orange vodka, ginger beer and orange juice.

IMG_1697

And yes, it kicked ass (pun intended). Other wake up calls include spiked apple cider, mimosas, Irish coffee and The Dude, made with brown sugar coffee liqueur, vodka and cream.

Ready to eat like I was on vacation, I read over the menu of Black Bean Cakes and Eggs, Salmon Cakes Benedict, Fried Green Tomato Wrap, pancakes, biscuits, oatmeal, omelets, and then I saw it. Banana Bread French Toast. Areyoufreakingkiddingme? Done.

Then it arrived.

IMG_1706

Cutting Crew’s 1986 lyrics, “Oh I, I just died in your arms tonight,” played as the server put the plate in front of me. With one bite I knew that all future breakfasts were ruined forever. The caramel drizzled, thickly sliced bread was the best breakfastisfaction I’ve had in a long time. Get me a cigarette.

My husband chose the Pimento Cheese and Bacon Omelet and was full for the next 36 hours.

IMG_1708

West Egg Cafe is a definite must for anyone visiting Atlanta. Clearly, I will never be the same.

Stay tuned for the next installment of our time in ATL. I’m brewing up a sweet post you won’t want to miss!

Leave a Reply

From the Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

