Sure Can Pick ‘Em

Leave a comment

October 28, 2012 by ET

Pumpkins, beware. Tis the season for picking. Folks around the South are in the process of re-purposing pumpkins for jack-o-lanterns, pies and some front porch sitting. Finding the perfect pumpkin can be a hard enough task on its own, and those looking for the full picking experience have a whole different challenge. If you don’t do your research, you could wind up gourd to death.

I’ve made a trip to the pumpkin patch an almost annual tradition since the early 1980s, so I was excited when I finally had an October Sunday free. My husband, who has learned to feign enthusiasm for all holidays since marrying me, suggested that rather than visiting our go-to pumpkin patch, we find a new farm this year. Always up for living on the edge, I agreed and found a site about 30 miles outside of Nashville that seemed promising. We gassed up the car and headed in search of the great pumpkin.

Half-an-hour later, we were stuck in a line of cars waiting to find a spot in the pumpkin patch overflow lot. “Is this Bonnaroo?” my husband asked. I assured him that the experience would be worth the wait.

I was wrong. A steep cover fee and a mile long line for a petting zoo and a corn maze of kids. (Insert the Psycho theme sound clip). I hated to bail, but this wasn’t exactly the autumn afternoon I was hoping for.

Just when I was convinced we were going to have to purchase our pumpkins from Kroger, I spotted a sign on the side of the road. We passed it on the drive in, but this time it didn’t escape my notice.

“Stop the car!” I yelled. My husband hit the brakes. We pulled up to find a perfectly positioned, outdoor market. It was a beautiful site full of brilliantly colored pumpkins, tomatoes, peppers and mums, neatly placed in rows as if to say “We knew you’d come back.” It was Triple A Farms in Rockvale, Tennessee, and it was a storybook picture of fall.

No crowds, no corn maze, no petting zoo, just a season’s worth of hard work for sale. Now this, was the way to pick a pumpkin -by supporting my local farmer. Open daily from 9:30 a.m – 6:30 p.m., Triple A Farms sells produce of all kinds at their roadside stand on Highway 99 and at their farm.

With pumpkins of all shapes and sizes and no kids to fight me for my favorite, I took my time selecting the winner.

It’s all in the stem. A pumpkin so pretty, I’m not sure if I can let it go under the knife.

Speaking of pretty, fall in love with this shot.

Thank you to Triple A for the perfect pumpkin picking experience. I won’t keep mum about this place!

Leave a Reply

From the Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

